Completed: My Easter Outfit

12 Apr

Remember that wool crepe I bought while I was in NYC? Remember how I was afraid it was going to be too winter-y for a climate that’s already rapidly approaching summer weather?

WELL, CHECK THIS SHIT OUT:

Easter Outfit

I made me a fancy lady flouncy pencil skirt! Totally banking on Carolyn’s reassurance that wool is a lovely fabric to wear during the summer, I decided to test that theory by making it into a skirt. I really wanted a whole ladysuit – or even a dress – but unfortunately, this kind of saturated yellow doesn’t do favors for my coloring. I went with a skirt so there would be plenty of space between my face and the yellow.

Easter Outfit

I felt pretty silly making a wool pencil skirt just as we’re creeping into 75* days – I mean, I’ve always thought of wool as a winter fabric (and I’d guess that a lot of people feel the same way). The best coats are wool – why would I wear wool in the summer heat? Isn’t that just asking for a sweaty disaster?

Easter Outfit

So here’s my little wool crepe pencil skirt for spring – in the kind of bright yellow that would almost be embarrassing if it wasn’t so awesome. But sit back down for a spell, there’s a lil’ surprise in the back…

Easter Outfit

… a circular flounce insert! I call it a party in the back, Landon calls it my tail. Either way, it’s a fun little addition to jazz up an otherwise plain pencil skirt (well, as plain as a *bright yellow* wool crepe pencil skirt can be, I suppose!).

Easter Outfit

This pattern is Vogue 8317, which I received during a sewing swap (also while I was in New York – thanks, Oona!). Just based on the envelope art, the pattern is a bit dated looking (I originally thought it was from the earlyl 90s, but the copyright date is 2006 wut), but the line art showed promise. I made a 10, although I probably should have done a smaller size as I needed to take in quite a bit at the waist. I also shortened the skirt by about 2″ before cutting into my crepe.

Easter Outfit

Easter Outfit

Easter Outfit

Easter Outfit

The skirt is fully lined with Bemberg Rayon. I originally wanted a bright yellow like the crepe, but there wasn’t any in the store when I was there (nor was there any white – at least not in rayon!), so I ended up getting a light peach that is very close to my skin tone. Surprisingly, it picks up quite a bit of the hue of the wool and almost looks like the exact yellow I was trying to obtain. Love it when that happens!

Easter Outfit

Easter Outfit

I also made my bow-neck blouse, using polka dot cotton batiste (from Mood, of course) and Simplicity 4676, a vintage pattern. The batiste is quite sheer, so I underlined the body with white batiste. I love this stuff – it’s incredibly soft and lightweight, and the black and white pin dots go with EVERYTHING. Seriously. I will probably end up wearing this top all summer, it’s so good!

Easter Outfit

Easter Outfit

Easter Outfit

I made this outfit to wear for Easter dinner with my family, but I can definitely see myself wearing it all throughout summer, as well as pairing up the individual pieces with different tops and bottoms. Oh, and to answer my own question at the beginning of the post- wool crepe gets two thumbs up from me when it comes to summer wear. Just make sure you pair it with a lightweight, breathable lining, and you can wear this amazing fabric year-round.

Easter Outfit

Do I sound like an advertisement, yet? 🙂 WOOLCREPEWOOLCREPEWOOLCREPE

77 Responses to “Completed: My Easter Outfit”

  1. makesphere April 12, 2013 at 9:03 am #

    Omg that is gorgeous!! Very Easter-y aswell- like a spring chick!

  2. Caffy Bundana April 12, 2013 at 9:16 am #

    You look amazing and such a lovely fit and surprising colour!

    Bundana x
    http://www.bundana.blogspot.co.uk

  3. Mikhaela Reid April 12, 2013 at 9:21 am #

    THAT IS MY DREAM SKIRT (except in my dream the skirt is orange or pink, but whatever). I love a back flounce and it makes a pencil skirt so much more walkable.

  4. Maggie April 12, 2013 at 9:30 am #

    Just oozes spring!! I love it 🙂

  5. Teresa April 12, 2013 at 9:30 am #

    Looks absolutely amazing! That color brightens up everything around it and your fitting is so amazing I can’t believe it’s not a stretch fabric.

  6. royaljunkie April 12, 2013 at 9:35 am #

    Adorable!

  7. Kay April 12, 2013 at 9:36 am #

    It is a cute outfit. I especially love the top.

  8. CGCouture April 12, 2013 at 9:48 am #

    The whole outfit is gorgeous!!

  9. Lori April 12, 2013 at 9:56 am #

    I just love this on you, the color is fabulous.

  10. Handmade Jane April 12, 2013 at 10:02 am #

    What a lovely outfit! Yay for yellow skirts – I really like it a lot, it’s so elegant. But it’s the blouse I’ll be losing sleep over….how perfect is that?!!! x

  11. ClaireE April 12, 2013 at 10:10 am #

    I love the “party at the back”. It is such a great detail and makes it such an interesting piece. Love the colour too.

  12. Katy April 12, 2013 at 10:12 am #

    This is just soo pretty! I want that pattern, and that crepe! The top is divine too, I’m a bit jealous!

  13. Sabs April 12, 2013 at 10:23 am #

    i heart your top, it’s divine… i need to get me some batiste as well as wool crepe now!

  14. Librarian Tells All April 12, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    You have a tail!! I love everything about this outfit: The skirt color, the flounce, the dots, and the bow. Bravo!

  15. kkegeland April 12, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    i thought i recognized that blouse!
    i have the same pattern and made a polka dot one last year

    Polka Dot Blouse – Vintage Simplicity 4676

    • LLADYBIRD April 12, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

      Oh, it’s gorgeous! Totally coveting that fabric you used.

  16. kaorumarie April 12, 2013 at 11:44 am #

    Love love love your blouse! I’m heading to Mood (LA) today and am now on a mission to find that fabric.

  17. Heather Lou April 12, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

    Love this. I too have pined for an acid yellow wool for such a skirt…. again, away from the face, but on the lower half I believe they call it “Happy eyeball sunshine”. That’s the technical term, you understand.

  18. zoelivana April 12, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    Ooh. I like this a lot. I think I have this pattern too somewhere.

  19. oonaballoona April 12, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    i’m drooling!!! though i’ve been drooling over all your recent fabulosity. it’s messy over here. i have no idea where i was during this wool crepe stroking, but i think i have to persuade carolyn to introduce me.

    you made that pattern BANANAS, by the way. gorgeous.

    • LLADYBIRD April 12, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

      I think you were pining over one of those metallic-shiny boucles 🙂 But yes, go get you some wool crepe! Carolyn’s sooo good for talking us into fabric splurges, ha 🙂

  20. Stacy @ Stacyverb April 12, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

    You are so prolific! I’ve been focusing on other projects lately so I haven’t sewn much, and I am living vicariously through your beautiful blog. 🙂

  21. Ashley April 12, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

    Polka dots+bright yellow=obsessed. Dying to try out the combo this summer, now.

  22. Lynne April 12, 2013 at 12:35 pm #

    Fabby outfit!! I love the skirt with the flounce.

  23. black label April 12, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

    i love me that flounce…but since i am such a polka whore, i have to say i love me that blouse even more {if that were even possible}. stunning job!

  24. Taracat April 12, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

    Love that back flounce. And I need to get some of that black and white dotty stuff now, it’s gorgeous.

  25. Helen April 12, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    Beautiful! I love both of these!

  26. Marie April 12, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

    This whole outfit makes me smile! The bright skirt with the party at the back and the chic, polka dot blouse…perfection!!!

  27. Kelly April 12, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

    You look so ladylike! I just love that color, and it suits you well. The blouse is great too, and looks very versatile. Fantastic!

  28. Gjeometry April 12, 2013 at 2:30 pm #

    Gorgeous! Great looking skirt.

  29. Krista April 12, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

    Party in the back!!!! That skirt is amazing!! I need one in my life! And I love the top. Just when I think I have a favorite of your makes, you pull one of these! 🙂

  30. sallie April 12, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

    OOOOOhhhhhh!! I LOVE this outfit!! Yellow skirt is genius! Paired with polka dots is even genius-er! And all the ladylike details!! Gah! I’m dying.
    I’ve also often given the side-eye to those who say wool can be a great summer fabric. But it is true that wool is breathable, so I guess it makes sense! And if it works for a Nashville girl, well… it works for me!

  31. Bec Stitches April 12, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

    Great outfit, great pieces.. you are a freaken gun

  32. lisa g April 12, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

    love both pieces! the skirt is a total gem (i’m all about the flounce!), and i am super in love with the blouse. great outfit!

  33. sewamysew April 12, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

    Skirt doesn’t look dated at all, it’s a really modern shape. Love the combo!

  34. walldruggie April 12, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

    Did you make the little vents at the bottom of the blouse? That’s one of my favorite details about tops from the sixties.

    • LLADYBIRD April 15, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

      I left them off this time because I wasn’t sure how to finish them, but I’d like to make another one and include them… they’re super cute 🙂

  35. sewcookgardenrepeat April 12, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

    Love how bright and cheery the skirt is! And the top is beautiful. Sigh, I wish I had more skillz.

  36. Rebecca/WannabeSeamstress April 13, 2013 at 4:37 am #

    This is such a lovely outfit! I love the fun flounce and of course everything with bows is just better!

  37. Leila April 13, 2013 at 4:40 am #

    Good advertising. I made a yellow wool crepe jacket that would look great with your skirt….when you’re ready for head to toe yellow crazy brightness. Until then, I’ll keep my wool crepe jacket far far away.

    • LLADYBIRD April 15, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

      I WANT ONE. But that yellow would look sooo bad next to my face… which is a shame, because it’s a fucking gorgeous color.

  38. Christel April 13, 2013 at 6:28 am #

    Great!
    I need a yellow skirt – now!
    Christel

  39. Kitty Cat Stevens April 13, 2013 at 10:04 am #

    that top is perfect! i keep adding polka dot tops to my wardrobe because they really do go with everything. also, even though i could never pull of yellow— this skirt is lovely!

    • LLADYBIRD April 15, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

      I bet you could pull it off if you wore it as far away from your face as possible! Ha!! That’s my typical solution for colors like that 🙂

  40. maddie April 13, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

    Wow, wow, and wow. You did an awesome job! Wool, if it’s the right weight, can be worn in winter and summer. The skirt that I photographed for my slash and opening tutorials – that’s wool and I wear it year round.

  41. Maureen April 13, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

    Ooooh! In love with both. Love the cute detail on the back of the skirt. And a perfect bow tie to top it off!!

  42. Reana Louise April 13, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

    Must buy wool crepe…. This outfit is DEELICIOUS! and my life is inferior without a bright yellow skirt with a flouncy ‘tail’ (teehee) at the back. LOVE it. x

  43. Nikki April 14, 2013 at 2:14 am #

    That skirt is just soooo cute, I must have one! Wool crepe on the shopping list – oops, hang on, I’m not supposed to be buying any fabric… But I don’t think I can live without! 🙂

  44. Lelie April 14, 2013 at 2:53 am #

    What a lovely outfit! I really love the ruffle in the back!

  45. Max April 14, 2013 at 3:58 am #

    Oh I LOVE this! The yellow is so awesome {my favourite colour} and the little flounce at the back is so cute!

  46. Julie Dickover April 14, 2013 at 7:27 am #

    This outfit is SUPER cute!!

  47. Tilly April 14, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

    Gah! I need a yellow skirt! Oh and another pussy bow blouse. In fact, Lauren, can I just have your entire self-made wardrobe please? Pretty please? I just love everything you make!!!! xx

  48. Adrienne April 14, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    I love the little flounce in the back, it’s lovely.

  49. Roisin Muldoon April 14, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

    Awww yeah a yellow skirt. Now, that’s pretty darned adorable. AS YOU WERE.

  50. Becca April 14, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

    What an adorable outfit! Love the flounce on the back of the skirt. I’m seeing so much yellow lately. I need to make me something yellow! The blouse is so perfect for spring. Love your shoes, too.

  51. Michelle April 15, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

    I love that outfit! I’ve been looking for a blouse pattern like what you made. Can you tell me where you purchased the vintage pattern and what size you made? Thanks!

    • LLADYBIRD April 15, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

      I bought my copy at my local flea market, although I see them on Etsy all the time. Mine’s a size 32 🙂

      • Anonymous April 16, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

        Thank you!

  52. kimmie April 15, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

    I kind of love a bow blouse… a dotted fabric…and a bright yellow! So basically, this outfit could not lose in my opinion.

  53. Melissa April 16, 2013 at 8:11 am #

    Beautiful! Love the color!

  54. missjoiedevivre April 16, 2013 at 3:51 pm #

    Beautiful! I’ve just finished a yellow skirt (and am wearing it right now for the first time) but I don’t think I like it as much as I like yours! I love me a good flounce. You rock that bow blouse too! Basically this is perfect!

  55. Kiwimel April 18, 2013 at 6:07 am #

    I love this skirt, such a gorgeous colour and I love the kick back:)

  56. Heather April 23, 2013 at 12:30 am #

    Lovely to see this made up, I’ve had that pattern since it was released and haven’t made it yet (have been working on losing weight all this time and finally did it!). Your comments about it being dated looking made me laugh, it’s all in the eye of the beholder, right? When I look at my pattern, I see a 40s peplum suit! Will have to get going and make my suit, I have a pretty tangerine fabric for it. Well actually I’m planning to make three of them: pink shantung, tangerine linen-look, and red plaid jacket with black skirt.

    • LLADYBIRD April 23, 2013 at 9:13 am #

      Haha, well, I don’t think the shape of the pieces themselves look dated… just the envelope photography (the way it was styled, the fabric they used, etc). I’m glad I was able to see past that, though, because the actual pattern is lovely! And all of your planned versions sound so yummy, especially that tangerine linen!

      • Heather April 23, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

        Thank you! The tangerine one is my favorite too, I’m using the pink fabric as a wearable muslin before I cut into the tangerine and that lovely plaid. I agree with you about the styling and fabric choices. What is up with that anyway? Vogue has made some interesting choices in the fabric department in the last year, bad ones!

  57. BIG TED little ted January 12, 2014 at 6:26 pm #

    What a fabulous skirt, in a gorgeous colour. And I’m only just a little bit jealous of your sewing room.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My first vintage pattern! | Bolts, Bobbins, and Blunders - April 18, 2013

    […] This is my first vintage pattern, Simplicity 4676. I discovered the pattern on Lauren’s blog. Her make is gorgeous and I want one, […]

  2. Me Made May ’13 – Week 1 Round-up | LLADYBIRD - May 3, 2013

    […] Tshirt: Sewaholic Renfrew Skirt: Vogue 8317 Belt: Banana Republic Shoes: Thrifted (yes, I’m totally gross and I thrift shoes, DGAF) I […]

  3. Lladybird: A Edgy Sewing and Knitting Blog | The Life Nostalgic - May 8, 2013

    […] can lurk her closet here. Some of my faves are here and here and […]

  4. Me Made May ’13 – Week 2 Round-Up | LLADYBIRD - May 10, 2013

    […] Tuesday Blouse: Simplicity 4676 Skirt: By Hand London Charlotte skirt Belt: Banana Republic Shoes: Thrifted My boss told us we had […]

  5. Me Made May ’13 – Week 3 Round-Up | LLADYBIRD - May 17, 2013

    […] Tuesday Blouse: Simplicity 4676 Skirt: Self-drafted circle skirt Belt: Banana Republic Shoes: Franco Sarto I love this outfit! That […]

  6. A 40′s Wool Crepe Wrap Dress | Mood Sewing Network - June 11, 2013

    […] for his identical cousin Cathy earlier this month, not to mention I’ve already dabbled in wool crepe for summer wear, as well as a full 40′s wool crepe dress. Yeesh. Ya think it’s possible for me to […]

  7. Completed: 40s Wool Crepe Wrap Dress | LLADYBIRD - June 12, 2013

    […] for his identical cousin Cathy earlier this month, not to mention I’ve already dabbled in wool crepe for summer wear, as well as a full 40s wool crepe dress. Yeesh. Ya think it’s possible for me to branch out a […]

  8. Sewing Along For Fall | Sown Brooklyn - August 21, 2013

    […] lladybird.com/2013/04/12/completed-my-easter-outfit/ […]

  9. Vintage Challenge Blouse | Clipped Curves - September 25, 2013

    […] After some careful consideration I decided to sew (during August) the vintage pussy bow blouse for September’s The Monthly Stitch Vintage Pattern Challenge. Why this pattern? Well the Iron Lady herself made it a winning wardrobe staple and some of my favourite sewing bloggers also know how to work this look: Anne of Tulle and Tweed and Lauren of Lladybird. […]

  10. In Progress: Polka Dot Silk Crepe Blouse | LLADYBIRD - March 15, 2016

    […] the neck instead, just to mix things up a little bit. I have vintage Simplicity 4676 in my stash, which I’ve made before. While I love the way the bow looks, I’m not as big a fan for the shape of the actual shirt […]

Yay, comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.