Merry Christmas To Meeeeee :)

28 Dec

Just dropping in to show off the Christmas present I bought myself yesterday!

Merry Christmas to me!!
Wait for it…

New sewing machine
Wait for it…

New sewing machine :)
Yay! My first Bernina – a 350 PE πŸ™‚
I guess you could say I was real good this year haha πŸ™‚

We’ve been bonding since yesterday afternoon, and I must say – she’s a sexy beast of a machine. The mechanics are incredibly smooth and quiet, and the stitches are freakin perfect. Just a gorgeous piece of machinery, and super fun to sew with. It came stocked with a knee lever for the presser foot and a free walking foot (which is golden, since my #1 sewing machine deal breaker is that I need a walking foot, no lie). There are two thread cutters – one by the bobbin winder. GENIUS. Why didn’t I think of that?! The bobbin winder is cool as hell, btw – it’s automatic, as in you don’t have to press the pedal to get it to wind. Again – GENIUS.

Since I’m awesome and live in Nashville, my local Bernina dealer is only about a 20 minute drive away. YUSSS! I’ve actually been plotting/saving for this purchase since October or so, but I wanted to make sure I could pay for the whole thing without financing (or any other debt, for that matter – had to pay off the credit card first!). And lucky me, they were offering $100 off during Christmas. So I was able to splurge a little and buy some bobbins and an invisible zipper foot as well πŸ™‚

I know you can buy machines online these days, and in some ways they may be cheaper (especially if you don’t have to pay taxes – our rate here is 9.25% and, ouch), but I really recommend buying your machine from an actual local dealer if you have the option. There are so many perks, aside from the whole fact that you don’t have to worry about the machine getting thrown around during shipment (and waiting for it to ship in the first place! Argh!). This store offers free getting-to-know-your-new-machine classes, which I will be taking advantage of – I barely know a quarter of the features on my Pfaff, and I sewed with her for 5 years! I also get free maintenance, cleaning and repairs for 2 years on the Bernina… and a free clean-up/repair on the Pfaff, so I can sell it πŸ™‚ Not to mention the small discount I get on Bernina feet and accessories since I bought a machine from them.

And look – I even got a Bernina seam ripper lol:
lol Bernina seam ripper
I’ve never bought a *new* machine, so I didn’t know they came with branded seam rippers. Ahh, I am tickled.

I just realized this sounds way too much like a sponsered post – it’s not πŸ™‚ I paid for this machine with my own money and the discount I got was offered to anyone who buys a Bernina from that store πŸ™‚ I’m just super excited about my new baby and I wanted to share the love!

As a side note… assuming my Pfaff comes back in good working condition (the repair guy said it probably just needs a new pedal, no motherboard problems like I originally feared), anyone looking to buy a 7570? Holler at me! Haha! πŸ™‚

75 Responses to “Merry Christmas To Meeeeee :)”

  1. Ann December 28, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    Wow, congratulations!!! I’m at my mom’s for the holiday and have been using her 20 year old Bernina and it really really truly puts my beginner Janome to shame (sorry little machine!). So I am extra super jealous. I’ll look up your Pfaff model and read about it, just in case…

    • Pamela Lovell December 28, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

      So happy for you. I sew on an almost 20 yr old Bernina and I wouldn’t trade it for the world. Get using that knee lever and you’ll wonder why every machine doesn’t have it. Can’t wait to see what you create with this new machine. Have fun!

    • LLADYBIRD December 28, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

      Hehe well the 7570 is not a new machine by any means- I think its about 20 years old- but its awesome and computerized and does embroidery. It has a built-in walking foot and a blinky bobbin light. Ooh and it comes in lovely early 90s colors- dusty pinks and greens and blues haha!

      • Linda Tauber August 31, 2022 at 3:27 am #

        Hi, I was wundering witch one you prefer. Your pfaff or the bernina. I’m a udge Bernina fan. Had a 30+ year old 930 witch I traded for a new 570. The most stupid thing I did !!! The new ones in my opinion are not as sturdy and good as the old ones (looking out for on old one again). What i think is not as good anymore is the dual feed technology. For what I hear the pfaff’s supposed to be very good. Especially with lingerie and sewing from a thinner over a thicker area gives me trouble. What is your experience? If you could only keep one, would it be the bernina or pfaff?

  2. Claire (aka Seemane) December 28, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    Hough… shiney new machine for Crimson lovely!! P.S. Merry Christmas πŸ™‚

    • Claire (aka Seemane) December 28, 2012 at 11:22 am #

      Arrgh… autocorrect on my Kindle!! shoulda been “Ohhhh” not “Hough” LOL!

    • Claire (aka Seemane) December 28, 2012 at 11:25 am #

      And Crimbo not Crimson (sorry for the excess no. of comments -my bad!)

      • LLADYBIRD December 28, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

        Lol Kindles have the worst autocorrect, amirite? πŸ™‚

  3. didyoumakethat December 28, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    I was dying to read you blog about your new Bernina, having seen the photos on Instagram. I’m so pleased for you! I absolutely love mine and know you’ll have many happy adventures with yours. It’s a real workhorse and sews beautifully.

  4. misscrayolacreepy December 28, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    Well, I know what you are doing this weekend!

    • LLADYBIRD December 28, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

      SEWING MACHINE SEXITIMES haha!

  5. missparayim December 28, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    Oh how fun!! That machine is on my short list for when I decide to upgrade (janome7700 is my other top contender, but I haven’t had a chance to test drive it).

    • LLADYBIRD December 28, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

      If you’ve got the funds, go for the Bernina! Janomes are all right, but you cant beat the gorgeoud stitch quality of the ‘Nina πŸ™‚

  6. Lizzy December 28, 2012 at 11:45 am #

    So sool! so I guess you really were a good girl this year! =)

  7. Lizzy December 28, 2012 at 11:46 am #

    *cool

  8. Sam December 28, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    Oooh, that looks like a totally gorgeous machine! I’m sure you’ll have great fun getting to know her better.

  9. Miss Celie December 28, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    Ooooh. I have been wanting a new machine for a minute! Congratulations!

  10. sophie o. December 28, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    You are one lucky lady! Congratulations and merry Christmas to you then! It looks like a beautiful new toy πŸ™‚

  11. Jove December 28, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    I’m getting my 340 tomorrow and I can’t wait!! The dealer wouldn’t give me the sale price over the phone but she’s telling me that it’s marked down so much that I will be doing backflips!

  12. Peter December 28, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    What a fantastic Christmas present — and the seam ripper even comes with a sewing machine! LOL Use her (him?) in good health!

  13. Merry December 28, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Oh God, that is GORGEOUS. Lustinggggggggg…..
    Well, on the bright side, when I was visiting my dad’s family in Tennessee (I’m from NC), my great aunt basically told me that whenever she kicks the bucket, I’ll be the one to get her collection of sergers (she has three of them) as well as her $2500 Pfaff. She has like half a dozen sewing machines and the rest of them will most likely go to other family members, but she wants her nicest one to go to a family member who she knows will take care of it and will actually use it, aka ME.

    • LLADYBIRD December 28, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

      Ooh, fancy! She should pass one to you now … I mean, no one *needs* three sergers πŸ˜‰ haha

      • Mary Elizabeth August 18, 2013 at 7:49 am #

        Ha, funny story- I was checking out this post again because I’m actually now considering that model of Bernina as well, and I come across this old comment of mine (this is the same person, but it’s so much easier to just login with facebook). JUST last weekend I convinced my aunt to part with one of her sergers for my birthday. So yay! It happened!

  14. Vicki Kate December 28, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    Ooh, lucky you! And yay for no credit!

  15. Loredana Galea December 28, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Oh you will just love your Bernina. I have had my Bernina 830 (vintage compared to yours) for the past 30 years and it has given me a lot of pleasure and I cannot say anything bad about that company. Enjoy it! It was the first thing I bought when I started my first job:)

  16. Lynne December 28, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    Oh wow!! What a beauty! You are just right to buy yourself this, my sister says everybody should buy themselves a christmas present. And I can second buying a sewing machine from a local shop. I got my new Elna in February, and was in the shop for a hour while I was shown all the features on it. May you have many happy sewing years with you lovely Bernina! πŸ™‚

    • LLADYBIRD December 28, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

      Heck yeah, I always buy myself a Christmas present… I don’t know of anyone else who would spend that kind of money on me πŸ˜€ lol

  17. stefpulls December 28, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    OOOOOOOOHHHHHHH πŸ™‚ Merry Christmas to you indeed!!!
    I am very jealous, it’s quite the babe!

  18. coco December 28, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    Good for you! Enjoy!

  19. Amanda December 28, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    Congratulations on your bouncing baby Bernina! (though secretly I am writhing in sewing machine jealous and shall have to drown my sorrows in an epic cocktail :P) Can’t wait to see the pieces you make with this bad boy!

  20. Stephanie Hull December 28, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    sewing noob question: what’s a walking foot?

    • LLADYBIRD December 28, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

      Its a giant foot that allows dual feed from both the top and bottom- perfect for sewing shifty/slippery fabrics, or where you need extra precision (like matching plaids) its also fab for sewing knits without bunching or stretching out πŸ™‚ my Pfaff has a built-in walking foot, and I’m super spoiled by it so I’m glad I still get one with the new machine!

  21. Ruth Meek December 28, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    So happy for you! I would love a Bernina!

  22. Andrea December 28, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

    Congrats! I can’t wait to see what lovely things you sew up this year. πŸ™‚

  23. ShanniLoves December 28, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

    Sho’ is a sexy beast!

  24. Bec December 28, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    Congrats on your new baby! i agree with the buying from a dealer thing, the service is great- I’m a Janome girl, and my local store is pretty close, I can drop in with questions or get help when I need it. I forgot to take my classes though.

  25. Sewing Sveta December 28, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

    Happy sewing with new machine in new year!%))

  26. redsilvia December 28, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    You can’t go wrong with a Swiss product – be it a sewing machine or chocolate. I’ve loved my Bernina for almost 20 years of sewing, and I wish you many years of fun with yours. Congratulations!

  27. Carola December 28, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

    I bought a Bernina 530 a year ago (very similar model to yours) and I love, love, love it! Can’t wait to see even more amazing sewing coming out of your sewing room! πŸ™‚

  28. Lizzie December 29, 2012 at 12:51 am #

    It’s a beauty! Enjoy the new love of your life πŸ˜‰

  29. megannielsendesigndiary December 29, 2012 at 1:26 am #

    Ooooo exciting!!! I actually just switched over from Elna to Bernina (i got a 530), and they are seriously so awesome!!! I know you’re going to love it! what a great christmas present to yourself πŸ™‚ totally worth it!!! xoxo

  30. HouseOFpinheiro (@HouseOFpinheiro) December 29, 2012 at 6:54 am #

    squehhhhhh of happiness for you! enjoy!

  31. Maggie December 29, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    Congrats on your your new machine! And Merry Christmas! I have wanted a Bernina for a couple of years, but haven’t taken the plunge. I will have to live vicariously through you until I can save my pennies for my own. Maybe if I am a good girl next year…. πŸ™‚

  32. colleen December 29, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    I bought my Bernina over 10 years ago and I still think of it as my new machine. I love it and can’t imagine my life without it. Long may you and your Nina wave!

  33. Amy December 29, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

    Merry Christmas to you! What an awesome present! Enjoy your new machine!

  34. gingermakes December 29, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

    WOW! That’s so exciting! Can’t wait to see what your inaugural make is!

  35. Heartofstone December 29, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    Wowee!! Congratulations, that looks like an amazing little beastie!! I have to say that I am a wee bit green with envy over here as I am using an ancient Singer. I am interested in your Pfaff, depending on the price of course πŸ˜‰
    Have fun sewing with the new baby!!

    • LLADYBIRD January 2, 2013 at 9:02 am #

      Well, I need to take it in to the shop and make sure it’s in very good working condition before I start seriously researching prices (I don’t want to sell it if it’s on it’s last legs, you know? But the guy I talked to seemed very confident that I just needed to replace the pedal, which should cost less than $100), but just based on the current eBay prices I have seen in the past & am looking at now, it’ll probably go for somewhere in the $800-$1000 reign. It’s a really really awesome machine, I just don’t need 2 expensive machines, you know? πŸ™‚

      • Heartofstone January 2, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

        Agreed! Who needs more than one, unless of course they each have their own unique functions.
        That seems to be a fair price! I’m not saying that I will be able to purchase it, that will all depend on where I’m at financially, but it sure would be nice πŸ™‚
        Keep in touch and let me know!
        Thanks πŸ™‚

  36. Lisa December 29, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

    Yaaaaaaay! Lo, THE THINGS YOU AND THAT BERNINA SHALL CREATE, haha. Congrats! Also, “invisible zipper foot” sounds like a band name.

  37. Kimmie December 30, 2012 at 12:54 am #

    I’ve only really sewed a small handful of times and it was always on my moms singer fr 1960. It’s a hefty behemoth. I’m afraid I would have no idea how to even turn that on!!! So fancy!

  38. sarah December 30, 2012 at 7:36 am #

    well it looks like you have been a good girl πŸ˜‰

    what a fab sewing machine you’ve bought, they last for years we had a few in college and they were already 15 years old then, so you can image how good they are if the can with stand years of students abuse.

    I’ve got a singer heavy duty but I think a bernina will be my next purchase but hopefully not for sometime, the singer cost me enough πŸ™‚

  39. Zoe December 30, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    BOOM! Congrats lady! xxx

  40. Chris Lucas December 30, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    Merry Christmas to you too… and what a wonderful present! My hubby got me a new sewing machine for xmas too… I’m waiting for it to arrive by courier as I live in a remote mining town (Port Hedland) in Western Australia and don’t have a dealer anywhere near us. I hope you enjoy your new baby as much as I enjoy mine. Here’s to all the wonderful things you get to sew in 2013 and beyond with you baby πŸ™‚

  41. Tiffany December 30, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

    Ooh, lucky you! I would love to know how you decided on that brand and model, if you don’t mind sharing your research. I would love a new machine, but I’m kind of overwhelmed with the options. Just curious to know why you picked this one.

    • LLADYBIRD January 2, 2013 at 9:13 am #

      Ah, that’s a good question! I guess the first thing you need to decide is what features you want in your machine. I had a few deal-breakers: front-loading bobbin (this sews much more precise stitches than a drop-in bobbin), auto-needle down, walking foot or dual feed, no plastics on the interior. My biggest deal-breaker was the walking foot, which really only comes standard on Pfaffs & I think some higher-end Janomes- anything else is a separate foot that you attach, it’s not built-in. However, when I started researching Pfaffs, I learned that they are now made in the same factory as Janomes. Which, I mean, Janomes are ok – but I really didn’t want to spend $$$$ on what is basically a rebranded lower-end machine, you know? I knew Pfaffs were no longer made in Germany (incidentally – my 7570 was the last Pfaff model ever produced in Germany lol), but that whole thing killed the deal for me. SOO that’s how I ended up with Bernina. As far as the model I chose – I set a budget and the saleslady helped me find a machine that fit my needs and my budget. Which ended up being the 350 πŸ™‚

      So basically – figure out your deal-breakers and the absolute most you can afford to spend (factoring in extras like tax, extra feet, bobbins if you need them, and so on), and then enlist the help of a sales associate. If you want to hear more about my opinions on the different brands and features, I’m happy to chat if you wanna send me an email πŸ™‚ I’ll warn you though – I’m a big ol’ sewing machine snob lol πŸ˜‰

      • twilltapetiffany January 17, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

        Thank you! That does help. I’m so irritated with my crappy machine! The upper thread tension discs are stuck wide open (WTF?) and the stitches obviously look like shit. I just sat down at the computer to drool over a better machine and remembered that I had asked you this question forever ago and just now found your response. Thanks for taking the time! I’m definitely going to email you and pick your brain more!

  42. Melanie December 30, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

    Congrats!! Nothing beats a brand spankin’ new sewing machine!!

  43. Teresa December 31, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    Congradulations! I have the Pfaff 7570 that I bought new in 1995 for Christmas. I love, love, love her but I know the time is near where we will no longer be together and I’m looking to a Bernina to take her place when the time comes. Can’t wait to hear more about your new machine!

  44. kazzthespazz January 1, 2013 at 5:28 am #

    Congrats on your new baby, she’s a beauty, fun sewing times to be had.

  45. Joost De Cock (@j__st) January 8, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    I am all sorts of jealous. *sulk* πŸ˜‰

  46. Becca January 14, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

    What a wonderful gift! I don’t know if you could feel it, but I’ve been emitting some serious waves of jealousy ever since I saw the picture of your new machine on Instagram. Enjoy that baby!

  47. sometimessewist February 13, 2013 at 11:00 am #

    Are you still loving your Bernina after you’ve had a bit over a month to get used to it? Has the compact-ness of it been a bother at all?

    • LLADYBIRD February 13, 2013 at 11:12 am #

      Still loving it! We had a bit of a learning curve when it came time to sew stretch knits, but i played around with the tension and stitch length and found the happy medium πŸ™‚ I am still constantly amazed by how beautiful the stitches are – consistently perfect!

      • sometimessewist February 13, 2013 at 11:15 am #

        Glad to hear it! When I went to buy my last machine, I was set on a Bernina…and then the sticker shock set in. I ended up with a Babylock Decorator’s Choice, which has worked better than my old Elna, but have been pondering just going for the Bernina in the next year or so. The stitch quality just sounds too delicious…

  48. mertxelasierra September 24, 2015 at 11:24 am #

    Hi Lauren!!!
    My old Alfa machine broke, and I am buying a Bernina!!!! Yessssss! I think I (like you) totally deserve it! I am in love with the Bernina 350… what can you say after almost three years of using it? would you buy it again? Is there any other machine you would like now…? Would you rather have bought the 330 or the 380??? Thank you!!!

    • LLADYBIRD July 25, 2016 at 2:35 pm #

      Don’t know why I am just seeing this comment now! It’s probably too late for my response – but I’m still happy with my 350. I have not sewn on the 330 or the 380 (not when I was shopping, nor since I bought the 350), so I can’t comment on those I’m afraid.

  49. Sarah W July 23, 2016 at 8:19 pm #

    L, do you still love your Bernina 350? I tried the 330 today and fell in love a little.

    • LLADYBIRD July 25, 2016 at 2:34 pm #

      I do! Love the 350 so much πŸ˜€

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Looking Forward… « VickikateMakes - December 31, 2012

    […] Pay off my credit card. Lladybird has completely inspired this one. I don’t think I’ll be getting a new machine at the end […]

  2. BIG HUGE EXCITING NEWS OMG « LLADYBIRD - January 3, 2013

    […] No…. I’m not engaged, I’m not expecting, and I definitely did not buy another sewing machine… […]

  3. Let’s Talk Sewing Machine Maintenance! « LLADYBIRD - February 13, 2013

    […] your machine OMG. Until I bought my new Bernina, I never realized you were supposed to oil those things! For some reason, I was under the […]

  4. I haz a sewing machine! | One dabbles, Mrs Weaver. - November 21, 2013

    […] also feel that I haven’t β€˜earned’ the Bernina yet. If Lauren at Lladybird can wait 5 years for hers (and look at the wonderful clothes she’s made), and Alice at Moonbeam can make her […]

  5. 2013: A Year in Review | LLADYBIRD - December 30, 2013

    […] if it’s a weird kind of giving back that’s just writing up a post – I’ve had my Bernina for a full year now and I’m happy to say that we are just as in love as we were on day 1! I […]

Yay, comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.