2012 – A Year In Review

21 Dec

I knowww I said I wouldn’t be back until 2013, but I just realized I haven’t made a proper yearly review! This is important!

First up, let’s talk about how many pieces of clothing I made. I thought I was slacking, but I started clicking through the months and saving pictures and holy shit:
2012 - A Review!
2012 - A Review!
2012 - A Review!
2012 - A Review!
2012 - A Review!
2012 - A Review!
2012 - A Review!
2012 - A Review!
2012 - A Review!
2012 - A Review!
(psst- click on the picture to see the patterns I used for each piece! Sorry these aren’t in better order; it was hard enough just getting them all in the collages)

Assuming I got them all, that’s 52 things I made this year (I know, you see 50 pictures – but two pictures have two garments in them, so booyah!). Oh, and that doesn’t count the handful of Renfrews I made that never appeared on the blog. That’s basically a garment a week? How the hell did that happen haha.

I know a lot of people think I’m some kind of madwoman sewing machine who never eats or sleeps, but I assure you – I have a full-time day job, and I spend just as much time sewing as I do having fun life experiences with friends. I just really, really enjoy sewing! 😉

Just glancing over those pictures, here’s a list of my top favorite/most worn things I made this year:
Gingham Peony – This is forreal the perfect little biking dress.
Cheetah Mock Wrap Dress – This dress is surprisingly versatile – it works just as well in summer as it does winter. And it’s leopard, which is always a plus in my book.
Disaster Dress – I love this dress! The lining and lace were gifts from two different blog franz, and I think of both those lovely ladies every time I put it on (is that creepy?). Not to mention, I just feel so pretty and elegant when I wear this dress.
– Thurlows! Specifically – the old man Thurlows (which may or may not have had a brush with death over the weekend… Landon put them in the wash :X They fit, but they’re a little short HELP) and the gingham Thurlows, which I seriously wore several times a week in the summer. I wish I could give my Thurlow jeans the same nod of appreciation, but unfortunately the fabric isn’t quite cutting it for me – over the course of the day, they stretch out and get super baggy. I love the way they look when they are fresh out of the dryer, though. I may need to revisit denim next year and see how I can make these better.
– Last, but not least – the mustard Agatha. I am going to wear this sweater until it falls apart in glories wooly ribbons. Watch me.

Some really awesome things happened in 2012, and not just clothing! Let’s see a recap:
I bought a Featherweight sewing machine. Longtime sewing dream: accomplished!
– I learned how to knit in 2011, so by 2012 I was ready to tackle my first sweater! It took 3 months and it was super difficult at times, but I powered through and now I have a new favorite wool sweater that goes with practically everything I own 🙂 Here is an agonizingly long list of posts that cover the process
– After the first sweater, I got pretty fearless and went on to knit 4 more sweaters. That’s 5 sweaters in one year haha! YAY SWEATERS.
– I participated in my first Me-Made-May and not only did I manage to wear handmade for 31 days straight… I didn’t repeat an outfit, either.
– I had one major sewing fail, and it came in the form of an Amy Butler handbag.
– Vogue released a new line of patterns that had the most ridiculous styling and posing ever and we all lol’d for days.
– I painted this chicken and it is cool as fuck.
– I moved to the other side of town (yay! BYE EAST NASHVILLE) and got a fancy pantsy new sewing room, and eventually a real sexi couch.
– Landon & I went to Chicago, where I had my first ever blogger meet-up and met some of the COOLEST ladies:
Final stop! Love these ladies!!
♥ !!!
– I made a bear costume and wore it for the internets.
– I finally paid off my credit card! BIG HUGE DEAL!
– I found my ~*~TNT~*~ pattern, the Sewaholic Thurlows. I think I beat that dead horse well into the ground – I made 5 pairs of the same pattern, plus hosted a sewalong! AND I HAVE MORE THURLOWS PLANNED HEH HEH HEH.

As far as the goals I had for 2012:
– I wanted to make another coat – done!
– Perfecting pants fitting – I hesitate to call anything perfect, but these are mighty close
– Make men’s clothing – done and done!
– Knitting: Learn colorwork and knit a sweater – Well, the sweater is done… and then some! I haven’t dipped my toes into colorwork quite yet, but that’s coming 🙂

And a few goals for 2013:
– More men’s sewing – I want to make a proper men’s shirt for Landon, with the collar stand and button placket and everything!
– Sewing with “difficult” fabrics – slippery little shits like chiffon and silk, I’m lookin’ at you.
– Knitting socks – why haven’t gotten around to making these yet? Also, COLORWORK: your time has come.

I know a lot of my friends have been complaining that 2012 was a rough year, but it was good to me. 2013, can’t wait to see what you have in store!
In front of the Bean :)

43 Responses to “2012 – A Year In Review”

  1. Anne W December 21, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    Well done! 52 items in a year, that’s brilliant! You deserve a large Christmas drink and a massive high five! Here’s to next year 😀

  2. Kerry December 21, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    That is a brilliant garment count, especially with the knitting as well as sewing. I know you say you have a job and a life as well but seriously, what’s your secret?! You have an excellent sense of what suits you and I have definitely fallen for a few patterns after seeing your makes (most recently the Tiramisu – your version is divine!)

    Happy Christmas x

    • LLADYBIRD December 21, 2012 at 10:51 am #

      I have no idea! Haha! I guess it’s a combination of me sewing almost daily (it really is my #1 hobby – I come home from work and go straight to the sewing room) and the fact that I tend to sew pretty fast – even when I’m making something that is quite complicated or requires extra work. I think I tend to speed through the process faster than most people. Because, trust me, I don’t stay up until 3am burning the midnight oil or blow off all my friends in favor of my sewing machine 🙂

  3. Alycia December 21, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    Totally amazing. I should do a year in review for my photo blog.

  4. symondezyn December 21, 2012 at 10:50 am #

    You are amazing! Your 2012 makes quadruple my entire wardrobe LOL!!

    I really love that last pic of you and Landon ^__^

  5. Tasha @ By gum, by golly! December 21, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    Okay this is hilarious since I just posted mine and I have EIGHT THINGS, including knitting, and I was mildly pleased with myself. lol I am reminding myself not to compare myself to your mad sewing prowess. I seriously think you have sewn more things this year than I own… or if not own, wear in regular rotation. I bow to you! And hope you come back to Chicago for more fabric shopping and shenanigans next year, maybe a little bit will rub off on me (and hey, my colorwork can rub off on you ;-)! xo

    • LLADYBIRD December 21, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

      Yes to Chicago! I need your colorwork skills in my life 🙂

  6. misscrayolacreepy December 21, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    Not only did I enjoy looking at all the beautiful clothes in this post, but it was fun looking at your different hairstyles too 🙂

    • LLADYBIRD December 21, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

      Haha yeah, my hair definitely went through some changes this year 😛

  7. Heather Lou December 21, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    Wow, i feel like a real slacking asshole. FIFTY TWO DOCUMENTED? Dude! Well done. I’ve enjoyed following along this year. Here’s to more more more more sewing in 2013. Happy new year!

  8. Amber Kozlowski December 21, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

    Whenever my mom washed any pants of mine, she used to step on the cuffs and pull the rest of the pants up to try to stretch the legs again. Looks silly, but worked well!

    So jealous of all your gorgeous clothes!

    • LLADYBIRD December 21, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

      Ooh, I may try that. They’re not too short – just like, half an inch. Enough to make the flare look really stupid 🙂 I guess I could always make them skinny legs, or take the legs off entirely and re-attach a new pair at the knees. We’ll see!

  9. Heartofstone December 21, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    WOW!! You are truly an inspiration! My goal for 2013 is to be just like you. Haha, creepy much? Obvs I mean I want to sew like a mad woman and learn, or attempt to learn, how to knit. I love your style and have really enjoyed reading your blog. Oh and thank you for the Thurlow sew along!! I would have been lost without it, fo sho!!

  10. Roisin Muldoon December 21, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    You are a stone cold DUDE, Lauren! Hats off to you! x

  11. Kat H December 21, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    Wow! Impressive sewing-and-knitting list! I’m especially impressed that you knitted so many sweaters in one year!! Nice collage of images as well – it’s lovely seeing everything grouped like that, so colourful and pretty. 🙂

  12. Houseofpinheiro December 21, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    Girl, you are my hero… I’m so impressed by your makes, your sewing growth… Thanks for sharing a wonderful journey and I’m looking toward to be part of it next year

  13. Handmade Jane December 21, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    You’re a total, utter inspiration Lauren, I love every single thin you’ve made. I hope 2013 is as productive and happy a year as the last one. X

  14. sometimessewist December 21, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

    Wow…that’s just amazing. FIFTY TWO garments.

  15. nettie December 21, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    FANTASTIC wrap up!! You kicked sewing AND knitting ass this year! And I’ve loved reading about every minute of it!

  16. Sarah W. December 21, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    So awesome, Lauren! I hope you have an amazing 2013!

  17. gingermakes December 21, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

    Holy crap! What a year! Your wardrobe is so, so gorgeous– I can’t believe how many beautiful things you made this year! Happy 2013! Can’t wait to see what you make!

  18. Jessica Cangiano December 22, 2012 at 12:08 am #

    My stars, what a mind-blowingly productive year you had! Everything you created is delightfully lovely. Awesome – and very impressive! – work, dear gal.

    ♥ Jessica

  19. Rachel Mercado December 22, 2012 at 12:35 am #

    Wow! 52 garments, that’s amazing!! I really love your style and attention to detail that you give your sewing. Thank you so much for sharing your talent so that we can learn and be inspired! My goals for 2013 are to make 12 garments for myself (I have three small children, so my sewing time is limited) and I want to get really good at knitting. I just started knitting about three weeks ago:) Have a great Christmas and New Year!

  20. Sarah December 22, 2012 at 3:50 am #

    That is frickin amazing. Love the photo montage!

  21. ZoSews December 22, 2012 at 6:00 am #

    I definitely think you are super sewing woman who never sleeps or eats – your output is amazing!!!!!

  22. Marie December 22, 2012 at 7:30 am #

    Holy shit indeed, you did better than some of the Sew Weekly participants! Hahah! You’ve had such an awesome year and I literally love everything you’ve made and feel inspired by your knitting progress…you’re my hero! But admit it,,,you are a little bit of a madwoman…no?!? Teehee! Can’t wait to see what 2013 brings for you ;o)

  23. Amanda December 22, 2012 at 7:36 am #

    Love your blog…you are my sewing hero! Thanks to your inspiring example, I’m actually going to attempt to learn to knit next year. I had exactly the same problem with my 1st pair of Thurlows, also in a thin-ish denim…they seemed right, but then ugh, the sagginess! Oh, well….but my second pair, made in pinwale brown corduroy (and cut a size smaller- was afraid to the 1st time) are perfect and I love them. Have a great holiday!

  24. Kate McIvor December 22, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    You are amazing! Thank you!

  25. Angela December 22, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

    Wow. This is inspiring! The projects really add up. I love your blog. Your style is really great and I get a real kick out of your Vogue pattern reviews. Now I really want to sit down and sew and to put more stuff up on my blog. Thanks!

  26. Angela December 22, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

    Also, for the record, handmade socks are the best!

  27. missjoiedevivre December 22, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    Holy shitballs. I am NOT convinced that you aren’t up until 3am every night. How you do this and do everything else I am not sure but you are amazing. And to make so many awesome things as well and not just hideous sacks?! And then to get photos and then blog it I don’t know whether to hate you or have a major crush on you. Either way it’s pretty damn amazing. I can’t wait to see 2013!

  28. crystalpleats December 23, 2012 at 1:44 am #

    Such an amazing and productive year. I see many of my favorite makes of yours in that collage!

  29. Tilly December 23, 2012 at 4:40 am #

    OMG Lauren, do you ever leave the house? Oh yes, you say that you do. I can’t BELIIIIIEEEEEVE how much stuff you’ve made this year!!! And they’re all so gorgeous too. PLUS you made a massive bear suit. Looking forward to seeing what you make in 2013… x

  30. Sewing Sveta December 23, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    Amazing! 52 things!!!%)))

  31. Helen December 23, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    52?! That is impressive. You havent just made tons of stuff, but some really gorgeous garments too.
    Merry Christmas! Here’s to lots of sewing in 2013!

  32. bubiknits December 23, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    oh My! 52 is what I expect to make in about 10 year 🙂 well done and gorgeous garment, can’t wait to see your 2013 projects, in the meaning time Enjoy Christmas and Happy new year. xoxo, Giusy

  33. ShanniLoves December 24, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    I bet your closet is overflowing!! They are all awesome. Great work!

  34. Amanda December 27, 2012 at 3:51 am #

    5 sweaters?! Holy hell- that is rather impressive! Am loving the collage- always surprising to see the sheer volume of pieces you’ve made in one spot!

  35. Knittingarch December 28, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    Wowee! Congrats, lady! This post has made me realize that I need to make more time for crafting. I waste so much time lounging about after work. I also am one of those people that feels like I have to sit down and finish something or it’s wasted time. It sounds like you sew a little everyday, which is a fabulous idea. Little bites will get me closer to finishing things eventually 🙂 Thanks for the recap, and looking forward to 2013!

  36. Zoe December 30, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    Damn you were busy!!! Well done on so many fabulous and successful garments. Looking forward to seeing what springs forth from your sewing room in 2013! xxx

  37. Colleen January 3, 2013 at 6:19 pm #

    omG You are amazing. I can’t believe you averaged a garment a week! You are my role model, Lauren. ❤

  38. kazzthespazz January 4, 2013 at 2:19 am #

    Fantastic Year in Review Lauren you totally kicked 2012 in the arse. Loved reading your goals for 2013 too. All that hard work pays off…Mood 🙂 Love your drive and your passion. All the best for 2013.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Link Love – Late edition! « Design Lived - December 23, 2012

    […] need to do so as well, though I won’t have near as many items as these ladies: Handmade Jane Lladybird A Sewing […]

Yay, comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.