Completed: Thurlow Shorts (the sequel)

27 Aug

Y’ALL. I am still having trouble getting over these Thurlow Shorts – I wear them all the time. Seriously! I actually worry that my friends are starting to think I only own one pair of shorts :B They are such a great fit, so comfortable, and look fantastic. Could this be love? Could this be TNT??

As a christening to my new sewing room – I made a second pair! Those gingham babes definitely need a break šŸ™‚
Thurlow Shorts

I made these using leftover chambray from my last pair of trousers – at 60″, I only needed about a yard of material. Nice! The gingham insides are from a piece of fabric I found at the Goodwill Outlet. Overall, cheap cheap. And fast – I cannot believe how quickly these basically flew together.

Thurlow Shorts

There’s not much to say about the construction of these, since they are essentially the exact same as my previous pair. There are a couple of things I would like to point out, however.
– I forgot to interface the fly facing. DERP. I am quite sure that normally, this would not be a problem… however, my fabric is very lightweight. Which means there is wrinkling all over the fly since it’s not stablized. By the time I realized my error, I had already sewn on the waistband. Oh well! They’re chambray – they wrinkle everywhere else, so hopefully the fly doesn’t look too bad šŸ™‚
– Instead of shortening the length, I just made the cuffs extra wide. Me likey!
– I couldn’t find a pants hook & eye – and trust me, I ripped my entire sewing room apart looking for them (which bums me out because I KNOW I recently bought some! Where are they!?) So these are closed with regular hooks & eyes. It works for now, although I’m still looking for my lost babies.
– The pockets as drafted are pretty shallow – you can’t really put anything in them. I slashed & taped mine so they would accommodate my phone and/or wallet:
Thurlow Shorts - adjusted pattern piece
Since this piece has to be folded at the line, I slashed both above & below the fold line & added 3″. I can still insert the pocket as instructed – and it will hold all my junk. Win!

Thurlow Shorts
I actually wore these out last night for a bike ride/dinner meet up with these awesome ladies. These definitely pass the cycling test – especially with my new rear pockets šŸ™‚ This will also explain why they are super wrinkly. And also why there is a giant grease stain on my cuff & my leg. lol

Thurlow Shorts

Thurlow Shorts

I forgot to get a picture of the back! I’m sure you can imagine what it looks like.

Thurlow Shorts
Here I am yawning instead. I got up extra early to shoot these photos šŸ™‚

Thurlow Shorts

Thurlow Shorts - fly

Thurlow Shorts - inside

Thurlow Shorts - back

Thurlow Shorts - welt pockets

Oh, and while I have your attention – check out all these crazy patterns I found at the flea market this past weekend! All $1 each!
McCall 1391
McCall’s 1391
I am DYING to make some gloves, but this pattern is Large & I have child-sized hands… so I may be learning how to grade down a glove pattern haha.

Simplicity 1390
Simplicity 1390
Would you guys still be my friend if I started channeling my inner Pilgrim?

Vogue 9993
Vogue 9993
This style of hat would look terrible on me. I couldn’t resist, though – the artwork is beautiful!

Vogue 9992
Vogue 9992
This style of hat, however, has been proven to look awesome on me šŸ™‚

Advance 9046
Advance 9046
Sleeves!

Butterick 7206
Butterick 7206
Because, why not?

Butterick 9945
Butterick 9945
I almost did not buy this one, but changed my mine at the last minute. I love the scallops with the peter pan collar – so sweet!

Vogue ?614
Vogue ?614 (sorry, I forgot to make sure the # was in the picture!)
Another sweet blouse.

Advance 8511
Advance 8511
I really love the neckline darts on this thing.

And one piece of fabric:
Fabric
I have enough to make a simple dress… but what pattern? Hmmmm.

I may be quiet for the next couple of weeks while I knock out some commissioned sewing. It sucks, but mama’s got bills to pay! And by “bills,” I mean “fabric.” Haha!

Thurlow Shorts

42 Responses to “Completed: Thurlow Shorts (the sequel)”

  1. Nothy August 27, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    Love the Thurlow shorts! They look fabulous. I love the patterns too – especially the beehive hat. How cool! I love it when I find really great vintage patterns!

  2. Shannon August 27, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    What! They have patterns for sleeves only?! Awesome!

  3. Rochelle New August 27, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    Cuuuteee!!! And dude, your hair is getting so long! Looking lovely as ever šŸ™‚

    • LLADYBIRD August 27, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

      I know wtf?! I’m totally about to cut it all off haha >:)

  4. Debi August 27, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    Love them! And holy crappoly….those are some AWESOME patterns you picked up for $1 a pop. I’m loving the accessories patterns and Butterick 7206 is A-MAZING!

  5. Marie August 27, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

    These are so darned cute, just like the gingham ones! Yours are the only versions so far that have tempted me to get this patter ;o) I also love your crazy patterns (some are actually amazing)…and good luck with your commissioned work!

  6. Janice August 27, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    Super cute shorts!

    I was wondering, how much do you charge for commissioned sewing? Does it depend on the project or is it hourly?

    • LLADYBIRD August 28, 2012 at 8:41 am #

      It depends on the project. Small alterations are charged a flat rate, and stuff that doesn’t fall into that category is charged on an hourly basis. My hourly rate is $15-$25 hour, it varies based on the complexity of the project.

      • Janice August 28, 2012 at 8:50 am #

        Ok cool, thanks for the tip. One of my jiu jitsu teachers was asking to commission me for some sewing, so I was wondering about price points.

        • LLADYBIRD August 28, 2012 at 8:54 am #

          Your prices may actually need to be a bit higher, since you’re in NYC. I base mine off what the alterations people charge here, and TN has a pretty low cost of living. Might be good to call & ask around – you don’t want to lowball yourself šŸ™‚

  7. Kitty Cat Stevens August 27, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    HOW DO YOU JUST MAKE CLOTHES I DON’T UNDERSTAND

    kasdfskdh you are so cute

  8. Neeno August 27, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    The shorts are totally cute!

  9. mancunianvintage August 27, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

    Those shorts are lovely – not surprised you can’t resist wearing something that fits so well.
    And please, please, please once you’ve got your commissioned work done make some of the accessories/outfits from the patterns you bought!

    Need to find a sewer willing to teach me to make the hats and gloves, those bad boys are cute!

  10. StephC August 27, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

    Super cute, gorgeous llady… Isn’t it wonderful when you make something and never ever want to take it off to the point that other people think you’re a little touched in the head?

    I LOVE those shirt patterns- the ones with darts/pleats/gathering at the neck are so so so good for S-shaped ladies.. Seeeriously.

  11. MsMcCall August 27, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    Lovely shorts! Do we get to see the commissioned sewing, or is it too snoopy to ask?

    • LLADYBIRD August 28, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      Hehe, it’s not too snoopy – it’s probably too boring to share, though :B I’m making lined draperies & a bridesmaid dress. I’ll share the dress if the wearer is comfortable with her picture being on my blog šŸ™‚

  12. Rachel August 27, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    The shorts look awesome, of course, but WOW the 7206 pattern is STUNNING

  13. Sarah W. August 27, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Cute!

  14. Chloe August 27, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    Way to go on the pattern score! Maybe you can use the photocopier to shrink the glove pattern? I’m rooting for you – gloves would be amazing!

    • LLADYBIRD August 28, 2012 at 8:44 am #

      DID NOT EVEN THINK OF DOING THAT. Man, you guys just throw out the best ideas šŸ˜€ Haha!

  15. Dottie August 27, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

    Great to see you and hang out this weekend! Definitely let me know when you’re going to be in Chicago. p.s. Those shorts are fab šŸ™‚

    • LLADYBIRD August 28, 2012 at 8:44 am #

      Yes ma’am! I would LOVE to ride a bike around Chicago & try out those protected bike lanes :DD

  16. Scruffybadger August 28, 2012 at 12:56 am #

    I have SO got to get making me some of these shorts…you make them look so good….your insides are neater than my outsides would be! But I have a love thing going for shorts too…..yours fit you so well and look ace. Those patterns?!? Fancy finding such a bunch of accessories altogether! Very much looking forward to some hat making a la lladybird

  17. Donna August 28, 2012 at 4:07 am #

    Another great pair of shorts – I love the contrast fabric inside! That pattern of just various sleeve designs is speaking my language – that is so cool!

  18. sallie August 28, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    cute! They’re a great TNT pattern! They look fabulous on you!

  19. Redeyedtreefr0g August 28, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    Of COURSE you hang out with Dottie and the LGRAB peoples! I should have guessed, all the awesome people I’ve found are related to bicycles somehow šŸ™‚ That you sew is like a x1000 bonus! I love seeing the things you make, and your photos brighten my day.

    • LLADYBIRD August 28, 2012 at 11:18 am #

      Haha yep! Trisha is actually prepping to make a pair of these shorts for herself (and a sundress!), maybe we can squeak a guest post out of her šŸ™‚

      • aem2 August 28, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

        Horning in to say: Pleeeeease! Cross-over posts make so happy. I love it when what I thought were separate worlds collide.

  20. maddie August 28, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    These shorts are awesome. What I love most though, is the contrast inside facing. It’s those details that really make a difference in the quality of a garment.

  21. Helen Made August 28, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    Great shorts Lauren! I totally need to get this pattern. For the shorts alone it’d be worth it!

  22. symondezyn August 28, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    I love your Thurlow shorts! I really shouldn’t be buying any more patterns at the moment but man… this pattern is tempting me left right and center! Total bonus that they are comfortable enough to bike ride in – that means they can be hiked in, walked in, and generally lived in too… bonus! šŸ™‚

    I’m always in awe of your flea finds… you got some winners there for sure! LOL don’t laugh at me but I thought the one with the sleeves had something wrong with the picture until I realized it was a pattern for JUST SLEEVES!! LOL!! So cool, but it did trip me out! ^__^

  23. Sarah August 28, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    Yay shorts! I love your colourful facings.
    The patterns are amazing, especially that layered hat. It reminds me of a chocolate or something, and the poor lady in the photo has such a sharp jaw shadow that it looks like a chinstrap.
    The scalloped blouse reminds me of Tilly’s jacket she made ages ago.

  24. gingermakes August 28, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    Looooooove your shorts! Super cute!!

  25. ZoSews August 29, 2012 at 7:28 am #

    Cute Thurlows and I love that floral fabric you picked up!

  26. sophie o. August 30, 2012 at 2:53 am #

    I really like your new pair of shorts! I’ve just made the pants but the pattern is wonderful! I’m intrigued by this sleeves pattern, I didn’t know they even existed – though it’s pretty useful when you think about it!

  27. byhandlondon September 1, 2012 at 7:14 am #

    Super cute – especially that lining! I’m still yet to find The One when it comes to shorts patterns…

    Just wanted to let you know also that we’ve nominated you for some inter-bloggy awards, see link here – http://byhandlondon.wordpress.com/2012/09/01/thanking-you-kindly/ – our blog is a fairly new venture, and we’ll be launching a brand new line of sewing patterns next month!

    Elisalex, Charlotte & Victoria

  28. Becky Wampler September 3, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    You should totally do an entry on your sewing room organization šŸ˜€

    • LLADYBIRD September 4, 2012 at 8:52 am #

      I posted about my new sewing room if you wanna lurk that šŸ™‚ I think my organization is pretty self-explanatory (lots & lots of stuff out in the open haha), but I’m happy to answer any questions you may have!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thurlow Sew-Along: Adjusting the Pockets « LLADYBIRD - October 23, 2012

    […] And here is an action shot, courtesy of my second pair of Thurlows. […]

  2. Completed: More Thurlows, With A Side Of Skinny « LLADYBIRD - January 28, 2013

    […] out my new Thurlows! We are up to six pair at this point, so I understand if you are sick of this pattern now, but y’all […]

  3. Me Made May ’13 – Week 4 Round-Up | LLADYBIRD - May 24, 2013

    […] Sunday Tshirt: Sewaholic Renfrew Shorts: Sewaholic Thurlows Belt: Thrifted Shoes: Born This picture was taken in Opryland Hotel (yes, I am INSIDE, not outside! […]

  4. Me Made May ’13 – Week 5 Round-Up | LLADYBIRD - May 31, 2013

    […] Wednesday Top: Colette Patterns Sorbetto Shorts: Sewaholic Thurlows Shoes: Born Belt: Thrifted Sorry for the shitty picture! We got home Tuesday evening, and Landon […]

Yay, comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.