Completed: Colette Clovers – The Denim Version

2 Mar

Ok, ok – ONE more jab at this pattern! Who is sick of looking at my butt in Clovers yet? πŸ™‚ Technically, I guess, these are the finished version of my polyester wearable muslin, so do they really count?

I bought this denim right before I swore off new fabric purchases until further notice. It’s a great denim – a nice dark wash, a good sturdy weight, and it has a slight stretch factor which makes them perfect for these jeans. I originally intended on make another pair of wide legged trousers with this fabric, but after lurking the shit out of Sallieoh’s Clover makeover, I decided to go with Clover jeans, with little flare legs. Hence, the polyester muslin.

So here’s the real deal!
(I’m sorry these pictures are bad – we are expecting lots of tornadoes today & it was straight up HAILING last night so I’m actually surprised I was able to catch enough sunlight to shoot these this morning)

Clover Jeans

I’m not going to hash out every single change I made to the pattern – you can check out my other version if you are just dying for the nitty-gritty, but I will share some additional changes I made with this pair. Here’s a list.
– I cut extra seam allowances on all the pieces since my denim wasn’t as stretchy as my poly. This was a MISTAKE. The pants ended up being way too big & I had to cut out all my seam allowances (and then some!) to get a nice fit. Whoops.
– I wanted to try out flat fell seams on the inside legs, but I cut too much SA off (this was after taking out something insane like 1″ of excess, see above), so I didn’t have enough denim to fold over. What you see are mock flat fell seams. Sorry!
– I stabilized the pockets with this awesome trim I found at the flea market – it’s measuring tape! Eeeheheee! I thought they might need some help to keep from stretching out, plus, it looks fun on the inside! The front pocket piece is red cotton, just to keep things from getting too bulky.
– I’m not terribly happy with the waistband – it digs kind of weird, there is some strange twisting going on on one side, and it was kind of tight so the button was pushed way over to the side (instead of in the center, where it belongs). And there is some kind of weird gap thing over the center back – does anyone know what that’s all about? I guess I needed to taper the waistband with a seam, idk. I don’t get plumber’s crack when I bend over, but I think it looks pretty bad. I may end up ripping out the waistband and starting over.
– There is a lot of topstitching on these pants! I used jeans topstitching thread with a more lightweight blue denim thread in the bobbin. My sewing machine was PISSED during some of those layers, gawd. I was able to struggle through, but now I’m wondering how some people with those little cheap hobby machines manage to churn out jeans. My machine is pretty heavy-duty and even with a denim needle it had some trouble, especially on the belt loops. Lots of cranking the handwheel on my end.
– I like how my belt loops turned out. I do not like that they aren’t evenly spaced at all! Haha! Oh well!

I think that’s it. Let’s look at some pictures instead!

Clover Jeans
Sorry you can’t see the hem in these!

Clover Jeans

Clover Jeans
I decided against doing the traditional topstitching in the back since I was not adding back pockets or a yoke. I know jeans are supposed to have the crotch seam flat felled & topstitched, but the idea of having a line of gold stitching running straight up the middle of my butt (with no other stitching going on back there) weirded me out way too much. So they’re simple from the behind!

Clover Jeans

Clover Jeans

Clover Jeans

Clover Jeans

Clover Jeans - Fly
See what I mean about the button? Haha I’m so embarrassed! I really should re-do that waistband… but honestly, I probably won’t. I mean, let’s keep it real here.

Clover Jeans - Pocket
Pockets!

Clover Jeans - Hem & Flare
All that topstiching paid off – I think they look good!

Oh, and I finished my coffee cozy last night! It ended up being a really easy/quick knit, so I stayed up a little later than I should have, just so I could put it on my to-go cup this morning πŸ™‚
Coffee Cozy
(before you say anything… yep, that’s a Hello Kitty toaster. I got it for Christmas like 10 years ago hahah)
If you want to see the pattern/details, it’s all on my Ravelry page!

Ughff I think I’m finally done with this pattern. Seven Clovers (including a few failed muslins) is enough for anyone, I’d say!

Clover Jeans
Still… I made jeans!

41 Responses to “Completed: Colette Clovers – The Denim Version”

  1. Janice March 2, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    It looks great!

    I’ve been wondering about topstitching through the um butt area myself. I find myself looking at strangers’ jeans (and butts) on the subway checking for any top-stitching there, and I still have no idea whether to leave it out yet or not.

    • LLADYBIRD March 2, 2012 at 10:42 am #

      Traditionally, it’s supposed to be there, but I think it would look funny if you don’t already have a lot of topstitching already going on back there (with pockets and a yoke, etc). That’s why I left mine out.

      And I catch myself looking at stranger’s butts – and crotches – all the time! Hahahaa I wonder what they think when they catch me staring :B

  2. Claire (aka Seemane) March 2, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    Like ’em! Re: back waistband – is it cut as a straight rectangle hun? Maybe you need to try and draft a countoured waistband so it’ll curve in where it needs to? πŸ™‚

    P.S. That red tape-measure trim is v.v. cute!

    • LLADYBIRD March 2, 2012 at 10:56 am #

      It’s a contour waistband – I just don’t think it contours enough to my butt, or something haha πŸ™‚

  3. Anonymous March 2, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    Jeans have to be about the hardest thin g ever to make, you did good

  4. Evie March 2, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    I think these are cute! I do think the universe is trying to tell me something. Everywhere I look people are making jeans. I really, really need to get to this. They all look so much nicer and better fitting than RTW. Which is the point, I suppose.

  5. Missy March 2, 2012 at 11:02 am #

    Hey those look nice! I’m not sure I’d have the patience for seven versions of anything, but it looks like that patience pays off.

    Also, I’m in Chattanooga and we’re supposed to be getting those same nasty storms. Stay safe ok?

  6. christina March 2, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    Lauren, Loving these jeans! I was also inspired by Sallie’s red pair of pants, I’m tempted to put together a pair of my own clovers. We’ll see how that goes.

  7. Alycia March 2, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    You made WEARABLE jeans! I could “make jeans” but they wouldn’t necessarily be able to worn in public lol

    You are the sewing master and I bow to you.

  8. Hannah Jean March 2, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    Suuuper cute! I’m loving the little flare at the bottom.

  9. Trice March 2, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    I am really excited about making jeans this year, but at the same time terrified. I want a pair of jeans that actually fit, no belts. I am glad you tried a hand at making jeans. Do they fit better than your RTW jeans?

    They look good.

    • LLADYBIRD March 2, 2012 at 11:36 am #

      They do fit better, except for the weird gap in the back (which I think I can fix if I take the waistband off – I don’t think there’s enough for a curve for my curves). The crotch fit and length is soo much better, though! Plus, I got to pick what color and fit I wanted πŸ™‚

  10. Trice March 2, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    Oh and I love your top.

  11. Andrea March 2, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    Great pants! And I love that measuring tape trim, heh heh. Stay safe through these tornadoes today. I live in Louisville so we’re expecting them, too. Hunker down!

  12. Sue March 2, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    Aaahh! – these jeans are so cute and AWESOME. I love the measuring tape trim and the POCKETS!

  13. sallie March 2, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    Hey! They look good! I love the little flare leg, very flattering. I had such a bitch of a time doing my belt loops on my red pair – my machine did not like it either – and it wasn’t even denim! I’ve been thinking of making myself another denim pair (I’m not even going to call them clovers anymore! hah!) in a colored denim – I think if I do this I might try one of those jean-a-ma-jig things … I just saw Amy write about it on her blog – clothhabit.

    Know what you mean about these pants… I need a break before I sew these again!!

    • LLADYBIRD March 2, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

      I am just so happy you posted how to make the pattern changes – I know I already thanked you, but again… THANK YOU! Me & my butt both agree that you da best πŸ™‚

      I’ve seen that jean-a-ma-jig thing, but my sewing machine already does something kind of similar (it has a different level to lower the presser foot on, for free motion quilting & stuff – it’s slightly higher, similar to what that doo-dad does) and I think my problem is mostly with the needle punching through the layers. Or trying to, anyway. I swear the machine was GROWLING at me yesterday hahaha

  14. Vibeke March 2, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    So cool with the measuring tape trim! Love your top, did you sew it?

    • LLADYBIRD March 2, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

      I wish! It was actually given to me by a friend of a friend. She gave me a whole bag of awesome tops & skirts. And this one is silk too πŸ˜€ I do want to try to make some tops like this, though, because I really love how they look.

  15. grenouille78 March 2, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    Man, I bought some denim and a jeans pattern years ago. Have I made them? No, because I am a big chicken.

    Think you made a good call on the absence of top-stitching on the back. Good job!

  16. Emily March 3, 2012 at 2:49 am #

    Yeah man you made jeans. And they’re good. Wear them I say. Oh I agree it was a good idea not to topstitch down the centre back seam….

  17. Scruffybadger March 3, 2012 at 4:04 am #

    I saw these yesterday but couldn’t face the whole commenting using my phone thang so have returned to shower you with huge amounts of praise & wonder. They look so great & anyone who can sew jeans that fit and have topstitched belt loops has my increasing wonder. All those things are so hard, in fact, so hard I haven’t even attempted jeans yet, found topstitching flat felled denim (even with my heavy duty pfaff) traumatic! So you are up there with the denim sewing goddesses ….looking cute as a button… as always!

  18. SuzySewing March 3, 2012 at 4:50 am #

    Woohooo!! Fantastic jeans and you look awesome!I recently went to London and was tempted to buy some stretch denim to do another pair of clovers. But I do have a sort of pledge like use. I need to lower my stash first.

    And I love the pockets.

  19. sewing and other stuff March 3, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    What lovely jeans, love the flare, and the fit. I get ‘gappy back’ with a lot of my ready to wear jeans – which makes me want to make my own but i’m a teensy bit daunted!!

    I do alter a lot of jeans for my customers though, and recommend (after a lot of trial and error with bobbin tension, topstitch thread in bobbin etc) that normal cotton in the bobbin and topstitch thread up top with a special topstitch needle (bit different to denim needles as they have a larger eye) should do the job. I also hammer the hell out of the fat bits where all the bulk is on the seams and my machine copes a lot better with it like that.

    P.s. really nice top – is it a buyable pattern or one of your own creations?

    • LLADYBIRD March 5, 2012 at 8:49 am #

      The top is actually RTW that was given to me as a gift – it’s 100% silk and it feels sooo nice hehe πŸ™‚ I do have a few vintage patterns that include tops with a similar shape, thinking I need to make some!

  20. gingermakes March 3, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

    These look great! I like the fit– fitted, but not TOO snug. And the pocket trim is way too cute!

  21. Kirsty March 3, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

    Great work on converting your clovers to jeans. Your six iterations have really paid off. Love the measuring tape ribbon.

  22. Casey March 4, 2012 at 5:37 am #

    I really like how these turned out! The flared leg is a great twist on this pattern. I know I say this every time you post a new version of the Clovers, but I still can’t get my head around that pattern! :p lol. It seems to look great on everyone but me. πŸ˜‰

    I hear ya about sewing through all those layers of denim… :p When I made my 40s jeans I was sure my machine was just going to give out at certain points! (I think part of my problem was forgetting to flatten the seams a bit with a hammer/clapper prior to sewing them.) Still, I really need to go back and remake mine, since the zipper placket ended up a bit wonky. Though I think for now I’m too distracted with other (read: more exciting) projects to deal with jeans. haha!

  23. Jennifer March 4, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    You made JEANS!! So impressed!! My favourite detail is the measuring-tape ribbon in the pockets — so cute. I am pretty new to your blog readership, but really enjoy your posts (and appreciate the level of detail you offer). I have nominated you for a “liebster” blog award: http://enchantedbobbin.blogspot.com/2012/03/liebster-blog-award.html — well-deserved.

  24. Rachel March 5, 2012 at 1:15 am #

    7th time a charm? These look great! I totally agree with you about the line of top-stitching you omitted. Who knows, it might have been fine, but they look great as they are. That measuring tape trim is ace!

  25. leahfranqui March 5, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    So. Cute! I love the fabric you used for the inner waistband and the pockets. SO cute. Do you watch Happy Endings? Because recently they pronounced the word cute Cuuuuute and that’s how I feel about these right now.

  26. Kelly March 5, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

    Wow, I am super impressed by this! I’m just learning to sew and don’t think I could do anything near this amazing yet, but it’s so nice to see what better-experienced seamstresses can do!

  27. Lavender March 7, 2012 at 8:39 am #

    That trim! I recently saw a yellow version, and am obsessed! Leaving out the topstitching on the CB was a good decision, IMO… especially w/o back pockets. Just looks neat and tidy.

  28. Juli March 7, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    I’ve been reading your blog for awhile, but I don’t think that I have ever commented. I love seeing all the different variations that you have done with the Clovers! I’m just starting to make a muslin of my first pair (after being really intimidated to try sewing pants) and it’s really cool to see that with a few modifications they can make some pretty cool jeans. Yours look great! πŸ™‚

  29. Juli March 7, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

    Oh, and that sewing ruler tape trim that you found? Awesome!!!

  30. Becca March 8, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    They look great! I really love that trim. I’m so jealous of the things that you find at flea markets and thrift stores. I agree with your decision not to topstitch the bum area. I think it would’ve looked strange without pockets back there.

  31. Taylor March 24, 2012 at 7:45 am #

    I’m a little late here, but these turned out great! I love the tape measure trim.

  32. Celeste April 16, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    You made your own jeans! You’re awesome! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stitching Spotlights 3.16.2012 - March 16, 2012

    […] & part 3 of drafting a block pattern from Madalynne. βœ‚ Lauren, I’m dying for a pair of these. And your Pastille version is just too sweet and fabulous for words. βœ‚ I always find the […]

  2. Completed: Gingham Thurlow Trouser Shorts « LLADYBIRD - July 23, 2012

    […] those stripes. I do have a little bit of rippling at the waistband, which I also had with my Clover jeans (which, come to think of it, that waistband was also cut on the bias. Hmmmmm). But it’s no […]

  3. Completed: Thurlow Jeans « LLADYBIRD - September 24, 2012

    […] to be very sleek and, er, trouser-like. Also, these are one hundred thousand times better than my previous denim trousers, […]

Yay, comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.